It Will All Be Given Away Anyway… Somehow~Someday

6 Oct

“Be forewarned: Man and money

cannot remain together forever.

Either the money is taken from the

man, or the man is taken from the

money.”

Rebbe Nachman of Breslov


Erma Bombeck Quoted The Following Before Her Death

“What’s Saved is Often Lost.”

“I don’t save anything. My pockets are empty at the end of a week. So is

my gas tank. So is my file of ideas. I trot out the best I’ve got, and come

the next week, I bargain, whimper, make promises, cower and throw

myself on the mercy of the Almighty for just three more columns in

exchange for cleaning my oven.

“I didn’t get to this point overnight. I came from a family of savers who

were sired by poverty and . . . worshiped at the altar of self-denial.

“Throughout the years, I’ve seen a fair number of my family who have died

leaving candles that have never been lit, appliances that never got out of

the box . .

“It gets to be a habit.

“I have learned that silver tarnishes when it isn’t used, perfume turns to

alcohol, candles melt in the attic over the summer, and ideas that are

saved for a dry week often become dated.

“I always had a dream that when I am asked to give an accounting of my

life to a higher court, it will be like this: ‘So, empty your pockets. What you

get left of your life? Any dreams that were unfilled? Any unused talent that

we gave you when you were born that you still have left? Any unsaid

compliments or bits of love that you haven’t spread around?’

“And, I will answer, ‘I’ve nothing to return. I spent everything you gave

me. I’m as naked as the day I was born.”

Leave a Reply

